PDA

View Full Version : Total Eye Candy With The G400



Phlex
11th October 1999, 23:56
I just downloaded the preview of trick sytle and it's absolutely gorgeous on the G400!. It's a game where you ride a hoverboard like the one in the movie "Back To The Future".

If you've been looking around to find something to show off your G400 download this game!
http://www.trickstyle.com/demo.html

I was playing this game at 1600x1200x32 and it plays very smooooooth.

Too bad the preview doesn't have netplay. I sure like to hang ten with some other players
For now it only supports D3D and 3DFX.

If you download the demo, let me know what you think of the graphics.

Phlex




------------------
Asus P2B-DS (v1010) Dual P2 450, 128 MB Corsair PC100 Cas2, Seagate 9.1 Gig Cheetah 39102LW LVD, G200 8 MB SGRAM, SB 128 PCI, Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder, 3Com 905B-TX, Sony 5x DVD, Yamaha CRW 4216. Samsung SH2204 4 Port 10/100 Hub. Altec Lansing ADA 305 Speakers, Running NT4 Server Enterprise w/ SP5.

Asus P3B-F (bios v1003A) P3 500 O/C 500x120 600 MHz. 128 MB Corsair PC133. IBM 18 gig GXP, G400 Max, SB Live, 3com 905B-TX, Sony 5x DVD, Klipsch Pro Media v2 400 Speakers. Running Win98 SE.

tish beta2
12th October 1999, 16:18
I too downloaded that demo, and yup the GFX is sweet! I played at 1024x32 thought...

Anyway, it actually crashed after 15 min of play. I'll try it out later. Oh and it loves the sidewinder freestyle pro http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/wink.gif I didn't have to do anything, all the buttons were pre-setup right where they should be (as far as I thought).

BreadFan
12th October 1999, 18:47
I too downloaded the Trickstyle demo. The game looks AWESOME!! I do have one problem though. When doing the challenge with the guy where you have to race him around the track going through the green hoops, when going through the hoops with glass (where you break the glass as you are going through the hoop), my system locks up totally. This is the only time I ever lock up in the game. I don't know if it is the game or the card, all I know is the only way I can get out of it is to reset my PC. Other than that, the game ROCKS!!

------------------
BreadFan

Abit BH6, Celeron 300A @ 450 (sometimes, soon to be a PIII 500) SoundBlaster Live Value, 10.2gb IBM hard drive, 6.8gb Maxtor hard drive, Promise Ultra DMA 33 controller, Netgear FA310TX PCI Ethernet adapter and a freakin' awesome Matrox G400Max!!

[This message has been edited by BreadFan (edited 13 October 1999).]

Ozymandis
12th October 1999, 22:39
I get a lockup in the exact same place!!!

Phlex
13th October 1999, 00:24
I played the game for about 3 hours last night didn't have any lockups. I still haven't beaten that guy going through the green hoops. I'm using the keyboard for now since my joystick died about 2 months ago.

Have you guys tried the game without the joystick? Maybe that's causing the problem with the lockups. I'm just guessing at this time.

IvanE
13th October 1999, 02:23
Just finished downloading it. I will give it a try tonight.

ie

------------------
Abit BE6, PIII 450@600(133,1/4*4.5), Mystique G200 Mclk@214.5)PD5.25 Bios 104,128 Megs PC100 CAS3, SBlive 2.1,Quantum Fireball 13Gig, Acerview 78ie,40xPioneer CDROM, 56k Modem

Bilbo
14th October 1999, 11:57
I get the same lock up.
You can chase around through hoop after hoop but after about 3 with glass the system locks. The Num Lock LED stays locked on, but if I ctrl,alt,delete once I have hard drive activity (as if the close program window should appear) but no close program window. Press once more and REBOOT. Seems the system is running beneath a frozen screen of smashing glass! Anyone have any ideas?
I'm using PD 5.3 , DirectX 7 , nothing else seems to lock up except Q3Test occasionally but I put that down to the Turbo GL Driver?

Ozymandis
14th October 1999, 13:49
You get occasional lockups in q3test also? I mean, not all the time, but often enough to be worrisome?

tish beta2
15th October 1999, 02:14
I GOT occational lock-ups in Quake3, until I re-installed win98se and started using TGL

¦ )

Anywho, the lockup happens when I brake the glass in those donuts too. Look closely, and you'll see it just crashes when it's a three-layer of broken glass right in front of you.

Moreover, It don't go "smooooooth" in 1600x1200, at least not when you're talking to the red dude or out on the tracks. I can't go any higher than 1024x32 till it get's choppy.

I have a P3-500 and the Max...

------------------
"Welcome back from the guide to how I see things logically"

Bilbo
15th October 1999, 03:04
My lockups in Q3test seem to only happen if I have run other programs (doesnt seem to matter waht) before Q3. If I run Q3 staright from a fresh reboot, everything seems fine...??
I'm gonna try a complete un-install and re-install of 5.3 and TGL. See if that helps....

------------------
G400 32MB DualHead,
PIII450@504,
64Mb,
QDI Brilliant 1 Mobo,
Goldstar 32X CDROM,
6.4Gb UDMA SAMSUNG HD,
3.2GB Quantum Fireball UDMA HD,
Int. IDE ZIP Drive,
ASUSCOM ISDN TA (Internal)
10/100MB Fast Ethernet Card,
SB AWE64 Gold,
Belinea 10 70 10, 17" Monitor,
Hmmmm and a Floppy Drive :)

Bilbo
15th October 1999, 03:18
Tish..
Thats exactly where mine locks up......
some bug in the transparency handling perhaps?

------------------
G400 32MB DualHead,
PIII450@504,
64Mb,
QDI Brilliant 1 Mobo,
Goldstar 32X CDROM,
6.4Gb UDMA SAMSUNG HD,
3.2GB Quantum Fireball UDMA HD,
Int. IDE ZIP Drive,
ASUSCOM ISDN TA (Internal)
10/100MB Fast Ethernet Card,
SB AWE64 Gold,
Belinea 10 70 10, 17" Monitor,
Hmmmm and a Floppy Drive :)

Frank
15th October 1999, 03:39
Yeah, good eyecandy. No "smoooooooooth" here at 1600x1200. More like 1024. Fun gameplay. Crashes at the hoops as well, but only with the guy! not the 18 yr old chick http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
Demo's are prone to those sort of bugs.
PII@560Mhz

jws
27th November 1999, 07:56
They have a patch for the G400 and breaking glass lockups, but I still lockup the moment i break the glass after applying the patch...hmmm

Maniac
28th November 1999, 23:12
Yeah Acclaim's really banking on those Forsaken stle graphics and plenty of eye candy. Was really nice a year ago, but now...

------------------
Celeron 300A@464 2.0V, Abit BH6 G400 16meg DH@150/200, Western Digital Expert 18gig, Ricoh mp7040A, Pioneer 6X DVD slot load, Motorola Cable Modem w/DEC ethernet card, Soundblaster Live Value Ver. 2, Viewsonic GT 775

Petter
30th November 1999, 06:21
COOOL!!!
Tested the demo yesterday in 1024x768 on my not so fast PII-350 and it was perfect! It wasn´t the least choppy. It hangs when I try to break the glass to. If anyone se a patch, please post it. And JWS, where is the patch you are talking about.

///Petter

------------------
PII 350
64 SDRAM PC100
G400 32 DH MAX
SB LIVE PLAYER 1024
TAXAN 17"
GRAVIS Xterminator (buy it, the best gamepad in the world)