Asus 3800TVR question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asus 3800TVR question

I'm currently using an Asus 3800-TVR TNT2 card. It has video capture but not video output so that would be aproblem when the time comes to output my animation. I have a few questions. I'm not really good with the the technical aspects of video editing.

1. What are my options for outputting besides giving it to a friend who has video output?

2. Is it possible to install another video card with output capabilities?

3. If so, will there be potential IRQ conflicts with windows?

thanks.

Other than using your friend you have two choices:

1. Get a card that can do captures and TV-Out at full video resolutions and with hardware acceleration of the video compression.

A combo card that does these and also includes a fast display adapter is a plus. The new Marvel G400 is such a combo device. The AIW Pro is not.

2. Get a TV-Out adapter box. This is an external device that would plug into your VGA port. It would provide a passthrough for the monitor to plug into and a composite video out for a VCR or TV monitor. This would generally be cheaper but give lower quality results than #1

Dr. Mordrid

Comment

Thanks for the tip Dr. Mordrid.

I think I'll go with #2 because I can't just get rid of my 230 dollar card. I have a few more questions that I hope this forum can answer.

1. I have my monitor plugged into the DVD decoder card. Would I have to plug the monitor into the TV-output box in order for it to work?

2. How much worse is it outputting the video through the box in terms of quality?

3. Since win 98 can support 2 video cards, can't I just get a video card just for video output?

Comment