What is a good video-editing card??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is a good video-editing card??

hi, i know this question isn't really matrox-related, but i think you all would know the answer.

A friend of mine is going to buy a new computer, and he is going to use it mostly for video-editing. At the store he was advised to buy a 3dfx 3500 TV AGP, is this a good choice? he is a complete newbie on computers and video-editing on computer so he doesn't need a very expensive video-capture card (not yet :-).

so is that card good for beginners and is the quality good? if not any advice?

Thanks in advance...

Dan.
    When you open Windows,
    bugs get in!

"Linux is like a Wigwam.. No Windows, no Gates, and Apache inside."

AARRRRGH NO DON'T DO IT!!

I recently purchased a V3 3500TV (don't laugh) due to the fact it could capture MPEG-2 using the Ligos GoMotion codec. To cut a long story short the card is CRAP, the MPEG-2 quality and the lip-sync is so bad it has to be seen to be believed!

I e-mailed Ligos regarding the quality and they replied as follows:
    -----------------------------------------
    Chris,

Thanks for the feedback. We were well into implementation of this relationship before we discovered that the hardware would have serious problems that would not be corrected in this release. Remember, this was during the 3dfx acquisition of STB and no one was clear on specs, etc. We debated withdrawing from the relationship until the issues were corrected for exactly the reasons you point out, but decided to move forward based on 3dfx's promise that the problems would be corrected in the next release of the product.