PDA

View Full Version : Freespace2 (release version) on G400...Wow!



DarkSyd
22nd October 1999, 09:29
I loved the demo, and the full version is even better. I just wish they had bump mapped the ships http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif
I need a bit more CPU horsepower, 1024x768 is choppy. But it looks sooooo good.

------------------
Cel 266@448 on Asus P2b (1009), 128MB, OEM G400/16, Quantum Obsidian S12, Fujitsu 5.25gb, MX300, Dlink 530, Grey Cat, Orange Cat (still MIA)
--
Reports of Sig5.2x being 40% more interesting than Sig5.13 were greatly exaggerated...

Frank
22nd October 1999, 14:07
Man, its awesome to see some out there have not yeilded to the PIII push.
whew...that celeron must be scrrreeeeeemin! http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif hehe
Good for you.
I love the demo too.
The nebulae effects are wonderful.
They have hit the stores here in LA but for $45! ouch. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif

DarkSyd
22nd October 1999, 15:32
Actually, a PIII is at the top of the current upgrade list, as soon as the 450's fall back under $300 Cdn. I just hope it will be as stable OC'd as my faithful Celery has been http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
$45 US for a game???? Wow, I thought $59 Cdn was expensive http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
For the record, most expensive game I have ever purchased...Quake2 at $90. Still playing it though.

The Rock
22nd October 1999, 16:31
DarkSyd:

I just bought a P3 450 today for $300 + tax. It's quite a speed boost from the old 350 I had. You may not even need to overclock, although the guy who sold it to me says he has one overclocked to 504 (4.5 x 112) with NO extra cooling or voltage adjustments. It's tempting. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
The Rock
Home Machine: P3 450 + 128 Meg PC100 RAM + 23G Storage
Work Machine: IBM OS/390 + 10Gigs RAM + 1.5 Terabytes Storage (and no damn AGP slot...what a waste)

Echo|Fox
22nd October 1999, 23:46
Sweet merciful crap ;P
I just got Freespace2 tonight and it completely redefined my definition of good graphics. I can't think of a game thats ever looked this good. You want scary? My ingame shots look _far_ superior to the prerendered cutscenes. Oh yes =)
It's one thing to phear how my G400 vanilla outperformed my friends TNT2Ultra (before he sold it and bought a G400MAX ... the bastard!), but Freespace2 ... well damnit THIS is how games were meant to be played.
1024x768@32bit, EVERY detail setting jacked to the max and its as smooth as silk. It's positively jaw dropping.
I remember playing the demo on my G200, but there is just no comparison. G400 power baby :P


------------------
P3-450@558mhz@2.1v, ABit BE6, 128megs 7.3125ns PC133 SDRAM, SB Live! Value, G400 32meg Dualhead (@120%), Acer ALN-201 PCI 10bT NIC, 6.5gig Seagate Medalist Pro 7200rpm, 13gig Quantum Fireball CR, Yamaha 4416e Burner, Pioneer 10x DVD-ROM, Panasonic e70 17" Monitor

DarkSyd
23rd October 1999, 14:50
I think we should start a petition to get Voliton to release a patch, with bumped ships. That cap ships would definetly benefit, the fighters don't live long enough to get a good look at http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

CannyOne
23rd October 1999, 22:00
I was having difficulties with this game on a system with a PPGA Celeron 366@550. Don't know if it was the CPU itself or the combination of the Gigabyte Sloket and Abit MBD. Well today I spent every last dollar I had on a new P-III 500, and traded my "vanilla" G400 up for the MAX. The FreeSpace loaded up and played wonderfully at 32 bits & 1024x768. The "old" V3 equiped system is definately going to "mold". The only use I can imagine for it now is a Linux server :-)

sadjester
25th October 1999, 22:13
Echo: hehe

my tnt2 ultra did wan't beaten by your g400 vananala actaully, but my g400max @115 beats it http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Kalzus
27th October 1999, 07:40
So it seems that no one else who has a G400Max is having unexplainable crashes approx. every two hours then?

(Sorry, I ran into this thread while intending to start a new one asking if anyone else had problems with FS2 patched to 1.01 with a Max. Forums are funny that way)

I'm sure it's something I did... I wa hoping someone else could tell me what that was so that I won't do it again http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif

When the game is working, it ROCKS. [lewd comment regarding liederhosen removed]

DarkSyd
27th October 1999, 19:35
Actually, yes I am having problems with lockups. I dropped my FSB down to 100 from 112, and that helped a bit (I can get through one mission without having to hard reboot).
The problem does not seem to be G400 related, as many others with very different gear are having the same problems. I started a thread on the FS2 Support forum:
http://www.volition-inc.com/ubb/Forum4/HTML/000295.html



[This message has been edited by DarkSyd (edited 28 October 1999).]

Dyre
27th October 1999, 20:31
i loved this game too!
I got it for free, it got a 9.3 in my review.
The highest score for a game ever i think on the site. : ) www.tweak3d.net (http://www.tweak3d.net)
its not up yet but will be soon. The nebula is great,k everything it great.
Its only a little choppy on my pIII 450, G400 MAX. Thats in 1024 in 32Bit

------------------
</list>
PIII 450 @ 464
generic BX6 motherboard
G400 MAX : )
Maxtor 13 gig UDMA 33
Maxtor 13 gig UDMA 66
Creative 36x CD-ROM
HP 2x2x6x CD-RW
64 megs PC100 RAM
Intel 10/100
Soundblaster 32 AWE
DiamondMAX 56k
Logitech Wireless Desktop (best $50 ive ever spent)
4 large fans.