PDA

View Full Version : Haig and BBoyz, similar rainbow issues..



Tumu
23rd October 1999, 06:01
Here's some screenshots from Tribes and GLQuakeWorld that could be helpful in resolving the rainbow textures issue with OGL ICD:

First, Tribes 1.9 with config/ClientPrefs.cs setting $pref::OpenGL::AlwaysRGBA = "True"; (Stronghold demo).

http://www.netppl.fi/~tumu/530rainbows/tribes19rgba.jpg

Trippy. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Second, same scene with $pref::OpenGL::AlwaysRGBA = "False";.

http://www.netppl.fi/~tumu/530rainbows/tribes19norgba.jpg

Third, GLQuakeWorld 2.33-0005 with r_dynamic 0 and gl_flashblend 1 (overkill.qwd).

http://www.netppl.fi/~tumu/530rainbows/nodynamiclights.jpg

Fourth, same with r_dynamic 1 and gl_flashblend 0.

http://www.netppl.fi/~tumu/530rainbows/dynamiclightson.jpg

See the pattern? If Tribes is forced using RGBA textures, it renders them with rainbows. And if dynamic lights are enabled in GLQuakeWorld, textures are rendered with rainbows. Maybe GLQuakeWorld renders dynamic lights on RGBA textures?

And here's one last shot from GLQuakeWorld (overkill.qwd with r_dynamic 0 and gl_flashblend 1) which I got when I ran GLQuakeWorld after taking those screenshots from Tribes. I had to reboot to get GLQuakeWorld behave correctly. Maybe the OGL ICD didn't reset itself properly after running Tribes or Tribes did something evil to the ICD.

http://www.netppl.fi/~tumu/530rainbows/notexturelighting.jpg

-Tumu


------------------
Celeron 333 (not overclocked), GigaByte 6BXE Intel 440BX AGPset (bios v3.3),
64MB PC100 RAM, G200 AGP 8MB SGRAM (not overclocked, a fan, bios v2.6),
PD5.30, SB16 Value, 3COM Fast EtherLink XL, Sony Multiscan 100ES, HP8210i
Win95OSR2.1 finnish




[This message has been edited by Tumu (edited 23 October 1999).]

Rohde
23rd October 1999, 11:05
I have a similar problem with Quake2. It's very weird, because I have newer heard of anyone one else experiencing this with Q2. It occurs only when coloured light is enabled.

There's a screenshot at http://TRsDomain.homepage.dk/quake_bug.jpg

The same bug is also present in HalfLife.


Torben

Wombat
23rd October 1999, 14:29
Up!

I really want to see this fixed.

Technoid
24th October 1999, 02:30
First time i saw this fenomen in quake i thought it was realy neat!
At last i thought quake has turned from being a boring brown to have a litle colors!

------------------
INTEL PIII450 MSI 6163
G200Mill 16MB SDRAM
SBlive
128 MB RAM
19GB HDD Space!

ALBPM
24th October 1999, 05:31
Use the REG Hacks and disable Palettized Textures. This has solved the problem for me.

Paul

Wombat
24th October 1999, 11:10
Haig, J.B.?
Any Matrox info on this? Last time I asked, I was told that you couldn't reproduce the problems. Hell, even if you said "it's a problem with the way the games were coded for Glide", I'd feel a <I>little</I> better.

-Wombat

Zwisch
24th October 1999, 11:49
it's always hard to tell since this does not ahppen on all systems and with all configurations... even if they look the same... but yes paul is right, disabling Palettized Textures should fix it... for now.

Marco
24th October 1999, 13:30
Hi Tumu !
I've got the same colors in glQuake.I've allready disabled Palletized Textures but it's still the same. I've tried out r_dynamic 0 and gl_flashblend 1. After I restart glQuake r_dynamic is 1. Can you post the syntax for the shortcut of glQuake.What I mean is something like "E:\QUAKE1\glquake.exe -width 1024 -r_dynamic 0". Is this the right syntax??

------------------
Celeron 300A@450
Asus P2B,G400 SH 32MB oc@150\200 128MB Cas2 PC100

Tumu
24th October 1999, 16:11
Marco, if you put the r_dynamic 0 and gl_flashblend 1 commands into your id1/autoexec.cfg then they should be run everytime.

Wombat, GLQuake and GLQuakeWorld have always used OpenGL. 3dfx just made a MiniGL driver for their cards because they didn't have an ICD.

For the palettized textures issue, Tribes doesn't use them with default settings. You'll have to force them with config/ClientPrefs.cs setting $pref::OpenGL::NoPalettedTextures = "false";. And the issue here was that forcing RGBA textures gives the rainbows (not enabling palettized textures).

And as for GLQuake and palettized textures, why PD4.51 ICDb1 didn't produce rainbows? GLQuake was fine and dandy with ICDb1. PD4.51 ICDb2 and _all_ 5.xx-series have produced rainbows with same settings I'm using.

-Tumu


------------------
Celeron 333 (not overclocked), GigaByte 6BXE Intel 440BX AGPset (bios v3.3),
64MB PC100 RAM, G200 AGP 8MB SGRAM (not overclocked, a fan, bios v2.6),
PD5.30, SB16 Value, 3COM Fast EtherLink XL, Sony Multiscan 100ES, HP8210i
Win95OSR2.1 finnish

Rags
24th October 1999, 16:30
Tumu,

I have always had rainbows since the first beta ICD. I don't know why it doesn't happen for you. I am sure it will be fixed.

Rags

Marco
25th October 1999, 13:44
Hi Tumu !
Creating an autoexec.cfg with the commands in it works great. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
Celeron 300A@450
Asus P2B,G400 SH 32MB oc@150\200 128MB Cas2 PC100