PDA

View Full Version : I have this annoying new bug in TFC, anyone else seeing it?



Helevitia
12th October 1999, 19:39
When I hold down tab to view the players and the ping times, all I see are blocks http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif No letters. They are all just blocked out. I actually highly depend on this tremendously. Anyone else seen this or have I just been away from the forums to long and this is old news?

Thanks!



------------------
It's almost all about two things:

1. Attitude
2. Children

Everything else is just an added bonus ;)

~David Hilliard~

Helevitia
12th October 1999, 19:50
I twould probably help if I mentioned an ounce of system specs http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Asus P5A, K6-2 400
196MB
13.2GB UDMA 66 Quantum
Mystique G200 5.30 drivers
SBLive!
3com nic(XL)
Intel Video Capture card
250MB Zip drive
Samsung DVD

This problem appeared sometime after the 5.21 drivers, I think? hehe, it's been awhile since I paid attention.

Dave

NoClue
12th October 1999, 21:25
Hi Helevitia,

I've had the same problem with the G200 5.30 drivers and HL TFC when I played it in D3D. After changing graphic mode to OpenGL everything was readable again...so try to switch to OpenGL if you're using D3D in TFC, it will most probably fix your problem too!

greetings
NoClue

DigitalWelfare
13th October 1999, 05:52
Yeah- I only experience that through D3D... kinda weird... huh? You have no idea, who your playing, whos winning, or what your latency is.... it does this@ every resolution i try with my G200 and the 5.25 drivers.... OpenGL should work good for you.


http://www.planetfortress.com/images/photo/big/101299.jpg

Helevitia
13th October 1999, 17:19
Thanks for the replys.



------------------
It's almost all about two things:

1. Attitude
2. Children

Everything else is just an added bonus ;)

~David Hilliard~

cash
18th October 1999, 18:40
I have the same problem with D3D. I've switched to OpenGL. The bad news is bus mastering doesn't work for me with 5.30 and OpenGL doesn't work without it. I've switched back to 5.25 and everything works fine.

Walter
18th October 1999, 22:21
I'll chime in with a "me too" response. Same block letters in D3D (even had to ask a TFC team mate to tel me my score during a game once). Switched to OpenGL and eveything was fine. I'm pretty sure the blocks showed up with 5.25 though.