PDA

View Full Version : Half life Freezes Pc with Turbo GL



welshbloke
13th October 1999, 06:20
What I have done to date
1. followed procedure for installing new drivers
2. removed HPT UDMA 66 drivers
3. Card appears to be seated correctly.

The symptons: TFC crashes pc (Freezes) if Turbo installed (Will work in D3D and with turbo removed in GL sort of)
Turbo works in Q3 with no problems and Q2 although in Q2 it jerks even though timerefresh command claims 90 fps at 1024 x 768

Resolution set to 1280x1024 32bit

Suggestions welcome.

Dont see my signature so will repeat again here
Win 98 Abit Be6 M/board with PIII450 and 128mb. G400 Max

[This message has been edited by welshbloke (edited 13 October 1999).]

welshbloke
14th October 1999, 15:32
Does anyone have the same problem or is it just me? I Need TFC it has now become a drug to me...

------------------
PIII 450 128mb win 98 sp1 G400Max PD 5.30 Abit Be6 motherboard

Rags
14th October 1999, 17:24
Make sure you have *all* shadowing disabled in your BIOS.

Rags

Tony Seattle
15th October 1999, 11:26
I installed the TurboGL drivers and then deleted the Opengl32.dll from all of the games that I wanted to play, including TFC and *voila* they played w/o error ever since.

I have maxed the OpenGL resolution in TFC and have had no issues... before I could not start it easily, nor could I play it w/o problems!

Tony


K7-600
SD11 Motherboard
256 megs Toshiba non ECC ram
Matrox G400 32meg Dual Head
SB Live! value
IBM 13.5gig HD x2 Raid 0
Promise Fasttrack66 UDMA raid card
Sony Supressa CD-R Scsi
Afreey 56X CD
Scsi Controller
Canopus Pure 3D II -Voodoo 2 (removed-becuase of problems)
Digital Doctor temp monitor
Tower Case 300 watts
Logitec Marble FX plus
Mouse pad (serial)
Klipsch ProMedia THX digital speaker system
Xitel Force-feedback Headphones



------------------
Self love is not such vile a sin, then self neglecting! -Henvy V

Wombat
15th October 1999, 11:51
If you deleted the opengl32 file, then you've effectively un-installed the Turbo, if I understand how they work.

Kruzin
15th October 1999, 11:55
Yes...if you delete the opengl32.dll from the game directories after you install thr TurboGL, you are removing what the Matrox drivers installed, and not using TGL...just the regular ICD...

welshbloke
15th October 1999, 14:04
After much to do and wrongfully blaming the Abit BE6 board I have now discovered my problem to be a shared IRQ between 3com905 and G400max, a little bit of jiggery pokery with the PCI cards and all is well. It is a bit strange that I never had this problem prior to the Turbo. I can only assume that busmastering and OpenGL go hand in hand. Thank you all for your input. I am a very very happy man. Turbo was an apt name thanks to all. You may all stand down.

------------------
PIII 450 128mb win 98 sp1 G400Max PD 5.30 Abit Be6 motherboard