PDA

View Full Version : It's not fair!!!



Hully
9th October 1999, 06:22
I read here about people getting great frame rate with that new TurboGL. The problem is - I'm stuck with my P2-400 and can't use it!!!

Does anyone know about a TurboGL release for P2 and Celeron? Will such a thing be released, and if so when?

Kruzin
9th October 1999, 06:54
I wouldn't hold my breath.
The TurboGL gets it's speed from P3s SSE/AMD 3DNOW instructions. P2s support neither.

[This message has been edited by Kruzin (edited 10-09-1999).]

Paradox
9th October 1999, 09:51
http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/frown.gif

------------------
PII 450@504 (4.5*112)
Matrox G400 vanilla/5ns@ 167/209
Diamond MX300
256Mb pc100 ram
10gb WD
generic 10/100 NIC

Tumu
9th October 1999, 10:38
Well, P2s and Celerons have MMX-commands which could be used but I don't know would it give any noticeable speed increase. And there already may be a support for MMX in the ICD.

-Tumu

Wombat
9th October 1999, 11:49
But I thought part of the point was that it was an MCD, and part of the speed came from optimizing the algorithms for gaming. If it were solely an enhanced-instruction-set issue, then why isn't the entire ICD sped up?

-Wombat

Nuno
9th October 1999, 12:03
MiniGl drivers tend to be faster than complete ICDīs. Look at S3 savage, 3dfx...

So I think we can expect a nice boost if Matrox releases a miniICD for the G400 (that would work in celerons/PII/K6).

Either way, I donīt need turboGl for now. I play most of my games at 1024X768x32 or 11xxX8xxX16, and that resolutions begin to be more fillrate limited than anything else.

When the games really start to need more fillrate and geometry processing power, maybe I will have a PIII. For now my 450A does it fine.

Marco
9th October 1999, 13:57
My choice is PD 5.30 with beta Icd. This seems too be fastest.

------------------
Celeron 300A@450
Asus P2B,G400 SH 32MB
128MB Cas2 PC100

LAMFDTK
9th October 1999, 18:08
Trust me, you ain't missing much

Diode
9th October 1999, 18:21
I had PD 25 and now have 30. Do I install the beta icd into system again?

Or does the pd30 have its own full ICD?
I have a k6-2 400 and g400.

Thx

tish beta2
10th October 1999, 07:31
The 5.30 got an ICD that's a little better/bugfree than the 5.21 ICD. The Beta ICD they released are still the one's that's most optimized for quake/HL.

Lamdfk, I have a P3 and now I play Q3 @ 800x600 instead of 1024x768. it's much better playing 8x6@45fps (note: average online multiplayer fps, NOT timedemo) than 12x7@30fps that I did before. Yes, when it gets online, the fps dives. and I have a P3 500.

For you with non-simd cpu's, 5.30+beta ICD is the best yap!
To bad they've removed the ICD from their last drivers download page. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/redface.gif

But I'm sure you'all have it stored somewhere on yer HD's http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Why didn't they design the turboGL icds so they would be optimized code for those games, including takeing advantadge of simd?

Beats me, maybe it's too hard, so they wouldn't have made it to the friday release. maybe the 5.35 drivers will include.

IceStorm
11th October 1999, 11:20
Or for about $180, you can get a PIII-450 and be happy.

You already paid $150 for a G400 (or more), what's another $180? :-)

Just my $0.02

P.S. The new drivers kick ass!


------------------
Primary System: PIII-540 (450@4.5x120), Soyo 6BA+ III, 2x128MB PC100 ECC SDRAM CAS2, G400 MAX in multi-monitor mode. V2 SLI rig. Two Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 900u monitors, 3Com 3C905, SoundBlaster Live!, DeskTop Theater DTT2500 DIGITAL Speaker System (Sweeeeeet!), 2nd Parallel Port, WD AC41800 18GB HD, WD AC310100 10GB HD, Toshiba SD-M1212 6x DVD-ROM, HP 8100i CD-RW, Epson Stylus Pro, Sharp JX-9400 LJ-II compatible, OptiUPS PowerES 650, MS SideWinder Precision Pro USB joystick, Logitech 3-button mouse, Mitsumi keyboard, Win98 SE, Belkin OmniCube 4-port KVM, 10/100 5-port Linksys Ethernet switch (30~40MB/min under Win98SE)

Secondary System: PII-266, Asus P2B BIOS 1008, 1x128MB PC100 ECC SDRAM CAS2, Millennium II, 3Com 3C590, ADSL Modem 640kbit down/90kbit up, 3Com 3C509, Mylex BT-930 SCSI card, Seagate 2GB Hawk, NEC 6x CD-ROM, Linux distro S.u.S.E. 6.1 (IP Masquerade works!)

Tertiary System: DFI G568IPC Intel 430HX chipset, P200MMX, 4x64MB EDO Parity RAM, Millennium II, Intel Pro/100+ client NIC, SoundBlaster 16 MCD, Fujitsu 3.5GB HD, WD 1.2GB HD, Creative Dxr3 DVD decoder card, Hitachi GD-2500 6x DVD-ROM, Win98 SE

All specs subject to change.

billko
13th October 1999, 13:23
Kruzin:

Could you clarify your statement a bit? You said that the TurboGL gets its speed from AMD 3DNOW! instructions. If this were true, then why aren't the k6-2 and k6-III listed as compatible with it?

Bill


------------------
People call me a computer god; I remind them that I am merely a minor deity...

Kruzin
13th October 1999, 14:04
Because the current AMD TuboGL is coded for the additional optimizations of the K7 that K6 does not have. K6 would require a "stripped down" version that does not use any of the new optimizations, and would probably not offer as much of a gain...

billko
13th October 1999, 17:58
Kruzin:

Thanks for the additional info. http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif

Bill


------------------
People call me a computer god; I remind them that I am merely a minor deity...