PDA

View Full Version : PD 5.30 and Turbo GL Performance Results...



CoolBreeze
8th October 1999, 19:18
Hello all,

Well u know me, im all about the "performance"...when i mean performance i dont mean watching the fps meter all day. I mean a good combination of speed a quality, and that my friends, is what Matrox has brought us this fine evening http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif. Well for starters...i have noticed 1 BIG change in my system while installing these drivers...i wasnt able to run agp x2...but NOW I AM!(not that it makes a factor in benchmarks that ive ran in the past, and from others that have told me)...but it is good to know that it is running at agp x2 again w/ busmastering of course. Now...to the games...I currently only have 2 games that the Turbo gl supports : Half Life and Q3. I havent ran any benchmarks as of yet...but ive done some online play w/ the fps meters running on both games. Half Life...runs comletely different on my rig now...for a second it felt like the gameplay was completely different(like a whole nother game)...i watched the fps meter climb to 70 fps...and drop in heavy combat(like on The hunted in middle of field where the prez escapes w/ 25 ppl shooting at him)..to no less than 30 fps...no stuttering or anything of that nature. I was amazed on 2 Fort...sniping was a "breeze" (ehehe)...smooth as silk gameplay with TONS of fighting and grenades going off...It was awesome. Ok...now to Q3 test...let me just say this...i can now play online and have no problems finishing 1st with all details cranked up at 1024x768x32 w/billinear. Its just like someone posted a few days ago. "There really isnt that much of an increase in the peak fps...its more like the fps dont drop to an unplayable level."....and thats exactally right. I got no real slowdowns except for when i mow down about 2 guys with the rocket launcher and their chunks and blood are all in my grill... http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif Then it slows down a bit...but damn i could hardly get around some of the maps with the settings im using now with the PD 5.2x series...I'll do some benchmarks later on...i am enjoying this too much...wow, this is the longest post by me yet...sorry it is dragging on like this but i figured ppl w/ and w/out the Turbo gl would like to hear something about it...so i would like to hear some feed back from all of u out there...good/bad...thanx for your time..

------------------
P3 500(not overclocked)
128 MB PC100 SDRAM
SE440BX-2 Motherboard by Intel
Seagate 8.4 gig HDD
Diamond MX300 Sound Card
AOpen 40x CD ROM
Ethernet 32 bit PCI Card
Motorola Cable Modem
Matrox G400 32 OEM Single Head @150
17" CRT Monitor
Altec Lansing 2 Speakers and Sub

----CoolBreeze aka KAST----

Grimace
8th October 1999, 19:51
I'd be interested in some timedemos of q3demo1 in Quake 3. Firing Squad was quoting 71FPS at 1024x768@32 with High Quality settings.

I've got all game options except vsync on, and straight High Quality settings (8x6x32) and I only get 42.6 FPS. I see TurboGL in the Driver Info but I'm not getting Turbo performance. I've got a PIII 450@504, 128MB CAS2 memory, G400 MAX, and SBLIVE.

I'm going to try to reinstall the drivers again to see if that makes a difference.

CoolBreeze
8th October 1999, 20:12
Well i havent ran any timedemos yet(im playin C Strike)...but i dont think im anywhere near 70 fps with those settings...that is impossible...even ANT wasnt getting those numbers....

------------------
P3 500(not overclocked)
128 MB PC100 SDRAM
SE440BX-2 Motherboard by Intel
Seagate 8.4 gig HDD
Diamond MX300 Sound Card
AOpen 40x CD ROM
Ethernet 32 bit PCI Card
Motorola Cable Modem
Matrox G400 32 OEM Single Head @150
17" CRT Monitor
Altec Lansing 2 Speakers and Sub

----CoolBreeze aka KAST----

Kruzin
8th October 1999, 20:14
You are getting roughy the same results because you have vsynch on. Turn it off, and watch the numbers go up.

And firing squad ran their tests on a P3-600. You are on a 450~504. That will account for a noticable (~20%) difference...

Echo|Fox
8th October 1999, 20:14
See my specs down below, but before installing TurboGL i got:

Q3Test 32bit, High everything, all details
800x600 - 38.8fps
1024x768 - 27.3fps

After installing it:
Q3Test 32bit, high everything, all details
640x480 - 69.4fps
800x600 - 52.1fps
1024x768 - 32.9fps

I'm a bit dissapointed that 1024x768 didn't go up more, but 52.1fps _rules_ a whole bunch in 800x600@32bit =)
Now it never seems to drop below 30fps ever, so it's infinately smoother.
I'm a happy camper :P (hmm bad choice of words, I hate campers =))

------------------
P3-450@558mhz@2.1v, ABit BE6, 128megs PC133 SDRAM, SB Live! Value, G400 32meg Dualhead, Acer ALN-201 PCI 10bT NIC, 6.5gig Seagate Medalist Pro 7200rpm, 13gig Quantum Fireball CR, Yamaha 4416e Burner, Pioneer 10x DVD-ROM

Jerrohd
8th October 1999, 20:31
I am getting some pretty good results on Q3 as well. I based my tests off of what Tom's Hardware used in the second part of the 32 card meltdown report. I did Normal Quality and High Quality tests at 640x480 with the special commands he lists to run to turn off CD music and no sound. My specs are:

PIII-500 with 256 MB of RAM
G400 MAX
Windows 98 with Direct X 7

With the 5.25 drivers I got this doing a timedemo on q3demo2:

Normal (640x480x16bpp): 46.8
High (630x480x32bpp): 44.5

Now this was exactly what TH got on a PIII-550 so I was happy. Now for the new drivers I just installed:

Normal: 67.6
High: 72.1

WOO-HOO! I likes! So I decided to crank the high quality setting to 1024x768x32bpp and got this: 36.0. Very playable. I am happy.

Jerrohd

legaljaxor
8th October 1999, 20:38
Grrr. I think i was doing better before the update to 5.30. Quake3 q3demo1 gives 33 fps with all settings maxed out at 8x6 this is on a p3 450 at 504 and a g400 32 dh at 150. sblive value 192 megs of ram. i was getting better rates in unreal. dx7 seems to work great. but q3 i'm at half what i've been told is possible. any suggestions. is it possible i have disabled simd on my p3. thanks for any answers in advance.