PDA

View Full Version : Quake II



Gorf
11th September 1999, 17:00
I am not sure if i will explain this very well but i will try http://forums.murc.ws/ubb/smile.gif
When playing the game i get bands of very faint white across my screen.
It seems to happen when i pick up artifacts (armour , health etc)
Or when firing the weapons.
I am running the game in 1024 x 768 in 32 bit.
It does it with the new drivers and the last ones.
Apart from that the detail and colour is excellent.
I have a G400MAX
PII 350
128 RAM
17 " MONITOR
I dont get any lock ups or any thing like that.
Any one got any ideas ?
Thanx in advance for your help.
I am also using the beta icd which has boosted my frame rate by about 6 or 7 which is great.

[This message has been edited by Gorf (edited 09-12-1999).]

agallag
11th September 1999, 18:21
Have you tried it with the regular ICD? It looks great for me at 1024x768x32. I get 45fps on demo1, with beatiful clear colours and everything. No glitches whatsoever.

------------------
Andrew Gallagher - andrew@agallagher.com
Asus P2B-S (1010), PII-350@350), 64MB PC100, 12.7GB Quantum Fireball EX ATA-33, 2x2.1GB Quantum Atlas I UWSCSI, Toshiba 6201 SCSI CD, Yamaha CRW4416S SCSI CD-RW, WangDAT SCSI, MillG400 32MB DH w/ 5ns RAM(5.25 Divers/1.5 Bios/Fo=310.5MHz), SBLive! Retail (LiveWare2.1), JVC RX884V Dolby Digital Receiver@500W, Dell D1728D-LS 17" Monitor (first head), ProScan 27" NTSC TV (second head), Win98SE, BeOS 4.5.1, RedHat 6.0, NT4SP5

Gorf
12th September 1999, 03:07
When say the regular ICD do you mean the one that would have been installed with the 5.21 drivers? (theese were the first drivers i used with the card,never used the ones out of the box)
My frame rate is the same as yours, apart from the screen flashes its great.
I am thinking about formatting and installing everything clean?

[This message has been edited by Gorf (edited 09-12-1999).]

agallag
12th September 1999, 15:34
I was referring to the one that comes with 5.25, not 5.21. I think they're very similar though.

agallag
12th September 1999, 15:36
And... it's always a good idea to format and reinstall. Windows is very difficult to fix without a reinstall if the system files have gone screwy.

Gorf
13th September 1999, 05:02
Yeah i think i will do that.
I am off today so i have a bit of time to kill.
If i forget about the gardening , the shelves the wife wants me to put up etc etc etc..LOL
Format hear i come.