G400 problem: 3D games freeze up!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• G400 problem: 3D games freeze up!

I am new to this discussion group so I apologise if this has been covered before.

I recently bought a G400 32MB to replace my ageing Millennium II 4MB PCI and Canopus Pure3DII 12MB PCI. So far, I have been impressed by the visual quality of this new card in 2D applications.

However, I have been experiencing random lock-ups in OpenGL and Direct3D games. At some stage, Quake2 (especially the crusher and massive timedemo loops), Unreal, Half-Life and Need for Speed III simply freeze up and sound effects loop over and over. Since keys don't respond, I am forced to do a hard reset and reboot my machine.

The same problem has occurred with the G400 TechDemo.

These lock-ups have never happened with my old graphics cards so I am sure the source of the fault is with the G400. Either it is the card itself (I think unlikely) or it is a software problem.

Has anyone else experienced this? Or, more importantly, has anyone else who has experienced this been able to fix the problem???

C|N

Celeron 333 o/c to 416MHz, 128MB RAM, Asus P2B mobo @ 83MHz, 256MB AGP Graphics Aperture, SB Live! Value sound card, CTX PR711 monitor, USB Intellimouse, Kenwood TrueX 42X CD-ROM drive, Quantum Fireball ST 6.4 & 4.3GB HDs. Latest BIOS, drivers, DirectX, etc. No IRQ conflicts.
    My system specs: Celeron 333MHz; 128MB PC-100 SDRAM; Asus P2B Mainboard (66MHz bus & AGP speed); CTX PR711 Monitor (desktop 1280x1024 32-bit @ 85Hz); Matrox G400 SH 32MB (PD 5.25); Sound Blaster Live! Value (LiveWare 2.1); generic PCI network card; generic 56k ISA modem; USB Intellimouse; Quantum Fireball ST Hard Drives (6.4GB & 4.3GB); Windows 98 (not SE); DirectX 7.0; etc.